A Guide to Sites, Museums, and Memory

L’Habitation Roussel-Trianon Guadeloupe, France

Ruins of the windmill tower and sugar complex
Ruines de la tour du moulin à vent et complexe sucrier, L’Habitation Roussel-Trianon, Guadeloupe.

Trianon était déjà probablement une habitation sucrerie à la fin du XVIIè siècle. Dans les années 1720-1740, elle appartient à Nicolas Bonhomme, un créole marie-galantais. Elle passe ensuite entre les mains des familles Fossecave puis Botreau-Roussel. Avant l'abolition, les sucreries utilisent essentiellement les énergies naturelles pour le voyage de la canne : moulin à bêtes ou à vent à Marie-Galante.

Le moulin à vent de l'habitation Roussel-Trianon est un des plus beaux de l'île. La qualité de son soubassement en pierre de taille et de ses décorations (étoile taillée à huit branches en saillie, cœurs), démontre le savoir-faire des tailleurs de pierre, des maçons (esclaves ? libres ?) et des charpentiers. Prospère à partir de la période révolutionnaire, l'habitation passe progressivement à la vapeur à partir de 1845.

En 1860, Victor Roussel, propriétaire de l'habitation Trianon, est le premier à introduire en Guadeloupe les appareils à triple effet Derosne et Cail pour les opérations de cuite, sans doute au moment où il achève la construction des nouveaux bâtiments qui constituent l'usine de Trianon. Un des intérêts du site est de souligner que la modernisation de l'industrie sucrière a commencé avant l'abolition, en recourant donc pour la partie la plus technique du travail, qui est la transformation du vesou (ou jus de canne) en sucre à l'aide de la vapeur, à des esclaves plus familiers de l' " ancien système ".

Après 1848, c'est la même main d'œuvre, essentiellement composée des " nouveaux libres ", qui continue à faire fonctionner une usine performante, en fournissant les ouvriers pour la partie industrielle et les cultivateurs pour les champs de canne.

L'Habitation Roussel-Trianon fait partie de La Route de L'esclave-Trace-mémoires en Guadeloupe, organisée par le Conseil Général de la Guadeloupe.


Related Topics:

A Guide to Sites, Museums, and Memory

Roussel-Trianon Plantation Guadeloupe, France

Ruins of the windmill tower and sugar complex
Ruins of the windmill tower and sugar complex, Roussel-Trianon Plantation, Guadeloupe.

In the late seventeenth century, Trianon had undoubtedly already become established as a sugar plantation. From 1720s-1740s, it was owned by Nicolas Bonhomme, a creole-speaking native of the island of Marie-Galante. It was then successively bought and sold by the Fossecave and Botreau-Roussel families. Prior to abolition, sugar plantations primarily used naturally produced power for sugar cane transformation: wind or livestock mills on Marie-Galante.

The windmill on Roussel-Trianon Plantation is one of the most impressive of its kind on the island. The quality of its carved stone lower section and decorations (carved eight-pointed star, hearts, etc.) shows the fine skills of the stone masons, masons (perhaps free and enslaved), and carpenters. The plantation prospered in and around the Revolutionary period, and moved progressively to steam power from 1845 onward.

In 1860, Victor Roussel, the owner of Trianon Plantation, became the first man in Guadeloupe to introduce Derosne & Cail triple-effect machinery for boiling operations, probably at the same time as the new buildings that would make up the Trianon production unit were being completed. One of the site's most interesting points is that it reveals that modernization in the sugar refining industry had started before abolition, relying on slaves more familiar with the "old system" for the most technical part of the work, i.e. the transformation of cane juice (known locally as Vesou) into sugar using steam power.

After 1848, the same workforce, mainly made up of "newly freed men," continued to operate the high-performance production unit, comprising laborers for the industrial part and planters for the cane fields.

Roussel-Trianon Plantation is part of the Slave Route—Traces of Memory network organized by the Conseil Général of Guadeloupe.


Related Topics: