A Guide to Sites, Museums, and Memory

Bight of Biafra

King greets European visitors, Cape Lopez
King greets European visitors, Cape Lopez (Gabon), late 16th cent. [Theodore and Johan Israel De Bry, Indiae Orientalis pars VI [India Orientalis. Pt. 6] (Frankfort, 1604), plate 19]

The Bight of Biafra is a region identified by Europeans (and subsequent historians) to describe the part of the western African coast between the Niger River and Cape Lopez. This region encompasses the coasts of several modern African nations, including eastern Nigeria, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, and northern Gabon.

Major trading cities in the Bight of Biafra included Bonny and Old Calabar. From this region, slave traders embarked more than one million captive Africans over the course of the transatlantic slave trade.

  1. < Oyo Empire
  2. Central Africa >