A Guide to Sites, Museums, and Memory

L’Habitation Murat Guadeloupe, France

Sugar refining complex, Murat Plantation, Guadeloupe
La sucrerie de l'Habitation Murat, Guadeloupe.

Le fondateur de cette sucrerie est probablement Antoine Luce, un notaire d'origine champenoise arrivé à Marie-Galante en 1657. En 1665, l'habitation compte déjà 11 esclaves âgés de 9 à 36 ans.

En 1807, Dominique Murat, originaire d'Aquitaine, époux d'une créole marie-galantaire, achète la propriété. Il la dote de nouveaux bâtiments. L'habitation sucrerie, désormais connue sous le nom de " Bellevue La Plaine ", devient une puissante unité productrice.

En 1807, 114 esclaves y sont affectés, et ce nombre triple en deux décennies, puisqu'ils sont 307 en 1839 (175 femmes, 132 hommes), ce qui en fait un des " ateliers " les plus importants de Guadeloupe quelques années avant l'abolition. Les " esclaves à talents ", ouvriers, maçons, charpentiers, ont participé avec l'appoint d'artisans européens et de libres de couleurs à la construction des bâtiments dont on voit aujourd'hui les vestiges, très fortement restaurés dans les années 1960, alors qu'il était question de construire un hôtel.

L'habitation comporte les bâtiments usuels d'une sucrerie, le ou les moulins (ici un moulin à bêtes et un moulin à vent), la sucrerie proprement dite et ses annexes, les bâtiments domestiques. La qualité de la maçonnerie en pierre de taille, l'écusson du moulin à vent portant les initiales et le nom du maître, la date de construction (1814), témoignent d'un évident savoir-faire.

L'originalité de l'habitation ne tient pas à l'opposition entre la " grande maison ", celle où habitent les maîtres, et les cent cases, depuis longtemps disparues, montées sur poteaux en bois et couvertes en paille où en 1839 logeaient la plupart des esclaves, mais à l'architecture néo-classique de la maison des Murat. Si le plan est sans doute dû à la famille, la connaissance des modes architecturales du temps est évidente chez les maîtres-maçons affranchis, ou les maîtres-charpentiers, qui pour beaucoup ont appris le métier en tant qu'esclaves.

L'Habitation Murat fait partie de La Route de L'esclave-Trace-mémoires en Guadeloupe, organisée par le Conseil Général de la Guadeloupe.


Related Topics:

A Guide to Sites, Museums, and Memory

Murat Plantation Guadeloupe, France

Sugar refining complex, Murat Plantation, Guadeloupe
Sugar refining complex, Murat Plantation, Guadeloupe.

The founder of this sugar refinery is believed to be Antoine Luce, a French notary from the Champagne region of France who arrived on the island of Marie-Galante in 1657. In 1665, the plantation already housed 11 enslaved people, aged 9 to 36 years.

In 1807, the estate was bought by Frenchman Dominique Murat from the Aquitaine region of France, who was married to a creole-speaking native of Marie-Galante. He had several new buildings erected. The plantation and sugar refinery were renamed "Bellevue La Plaine" and became a powerful production unit.

In 1807, 114 slaves worked on the plantation, a number which was to triple over two decades—307 were recorded in 1839 (175 women and 132 men)—which made it one of the largest "worksites" in Guadeloupe, some years before abolition. The skilled slaves, including laborers, masons, and carpenters joined a number of European craftsmen and some colored free men in the construction of buildings, of which the remains can still be seen today and which underwent extensive restoration work in the 1960s when a plan was made to build a hotel.

The plantation comprised the conventional sugar refinery buildings, one or more mills (in this case one livestock mill and one windmill), the sugar refinery itself and its annexes, and the domestic buildings. The quality of the stonework and the crest on the windmill bearing both the Master's initials and surname and the construction date (1814) are all signs of a skilled workforce.

The plantation's originality stems not so much from the opposition between the "Main house," where the masters lived, and the hundred cabins, long since gone, assembled with wooden posts and thatched roofs which housed most of the slaves in 1839, as from the neo-classical architecture of Murat's house. Though the plan can no doubt be attributed to the family, it is clear that the freed master-masons and master-carpenters, most of whom had learned their skills while they were slaves, showed extensive knowledge of the metropolitan architectural fashions of the time.

Murat Plantation is part of the Slave Route—Traces of Memory network organized by the Conseil Général of Guadeloupe.


Related Topics: