A Guide to Sites, Museums, and Memory

L’Habitation Beausoleil Guadeloupe, France

Beausoleil Plantation, Guadeloupe
L’Habitation Beausoleil, Guadeloupe.

L'origine de l'habitation n'est pas précisément connue. Elle semble appartenir à la famille de Montéran au moins depuis le dernier quart du XVIIe siècle ; une centaine d'esclaves travaille alors à son exploitation.

En 1755, Antoine Le Pelletier en hérite par son parrain M. Bourdaise de Montéran. Pendant la Révolution française, les propriétaires ont émigré. L'habitation est séquestrée et son exploitation se poursuit avec 142 cultivateurs.

En 1835, l'inventaire de l'habitation, qui produit alors du sucre et du rhum, fait état d'une propriété importante couvrant 120 ha. Les 147 esclaves qui y travaillent alors sont logés dans 53 cases construites en maçonnerie pour les fondations, en planches pour les murs et en paille pour la couverture.

Au moment de l'abolition en 1848, 163 esclaves émancipés choisissent de rester sur l'habitation et d'y travailler sous contrat. Ils ne sont plus que 55 en 1850 lorsque l'héritière du domaine, Mme Le Pelletier de Montéran, crée une société avec les travailleurs. Ces derniers sont logés, bénéficient d'un jardin et perçoivent pour salaire 1/3 du sucre produit.

Les neveux de Mme Le Pelletier de Montéran, décédée en 1878, héritent de l'habitation qu'ils vendent quelques années plus tard. La sucrerie fonctionnera jusqu'à la fin du XIXe siècle.

L'Habitation Beausoleil fait partie de La Route de L'esclave-Trace-mémoires en Guadeloupe, organisée par le Conseil Général de la Guadeloupe.


Related Topics:

A Guide to Sites, Museums, and Memory

Beausoleil Plantation Guadeloupe, France

Beausoleil Plantation, Guadeloupe
Beausoleil Plantation, Guadeloupe.

Though the origins of this plantation are not fully known, it is believed to have been owned by the De Montéran family from at least the last quarter of the seventeenth century onward. In those days, around one hundred enslaved people would have been working on it.

In 1755, it was inherited by Antoine Le Pelletier, through his godfather, Monsieur Bourdaise de Montéran. The owners emigrated during the French Revolution. The plantation was captured and work continued with around 142 enslaved laborers.

In 1835, an inventory of the plantation, which was then producing sugar and rum, refers to it as a large 120-hectare estate. The 147 enslaved people who worked there were housed in fifty-three cabins with solid-built foundations, wooden planks for walls, and thatched roofs.

When slavery was abolished in 1848, 163 freedpeople chose to stay on the plantation to carry out contracting work. Only fifty-five remained in 1850, when the estate's heiress, Madame Le Pelletier de Montéran, started up a company with the workers. The latter were provided with housing, gardens, and wages corresponding to one-third of the sugar production.

The nephews of Mme Le Pelletier de Montéran (who died in 1878) inherited the plantation, which was sold on some years later. Sugar production continued up until the late nineteenth century.

Beausoleil Plantation is part of the Slave Route—Traces of Memory network organized by the Conseil Général of Guadeloupe.


Related Topics: